SomeKindaCritter


Amigurumi Primer Part One

I’ve been making amigurumi for over two years now, and I’ve decided to make an Amigurumi Primer to help people who are just starting out. I’m hoping to update this blog frequently with amigurumi tips, tricks, and references. Hopefully this will start you crocheting amigurumi from patterns, and eventually designing your own!

Amigurumi Primer Part One –

Introduction to Amigurumi

Amigurumi is a Japanese word that translates loosely into crocheted/knitted toy. These toys are usually made in a kawaii(cute) style with large heads/eyes and tiny bodies. However, there are many styles of amigurumi which aren’t limited to the big-headed cuties.

A kawaii style amigurumi, made by CuteAmigurumi

A not-so-kawaii but definitely awesome(knitted) amigurumi by Olá Olá Bonjour TragedyTrousers!

Crocheted Amigurumi are made by crocheting in the round, using spirals instead of joined rounds. The individual parts are stuffed, embroidered, brushed, or whatever else the artist chooses to do before sewing them together using the ends of the yarn from the pieces. Today, Amigurumi is a popular medium for fan art, because you end up with a cool 3D plush of your favorite character.

In this guide, I’ll be putting certain words and phrases in bold so you can easily see the important bits. Though I do recommend you read through the whole post to get the full benefit of the primer, you can use these key words to help you get the gist of things.

Happy Hooking!

SomeKindaCritter


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey there. I’m really pleased to have found your blog! As an avid knitter and crocheter (is that a word?!) I have never ventured into amigurumi. I look forward to reading your guide and having a go myself!

Comment by Emma in Euroland

Thank you for the comment. 🙂 I’m not an expert by any means, but I know a lot of little tips that I’ve picked up. The first couple of posts are going to super duper introductory, but if you haven’t crocheted in rounds you’ll wanna check ’em out. I think I’m going to try to update every week. Thanks for stopping by!

Comment by somekindacritter




Leave a comment